Just another WordPress.com site

Baby Steps

No matter how much experience I have with technology, the newest stuff still tends to freeze me up a bit at first.  Take my first un-conference, for example–yesterday at EdcampChicago–I arrived early, and began my morning by entering the wrong part of the high school!  A colleague (and shirt-tail relative) of mine had made the journey with me, and I was so grateful for that!  Didn’t help us from walking into the wrong Saturday program, though!  So, we asked to be pointed in the right direction, and then made our second entrance into the unknown for the day.

My first impression?  Well, I saw a number of people, nearly everyone with some mobile device or laptop in hand, busily working (on WHAT?), and mostly operating on their own.  I told my Cece, my conference buddy, that I’d watch our stuff while she helped some people bring in the breakfast items, happily thinking of this free food as the first really cool surprise this event had to offer.  Oh, and it was, by the way–as was our incredible lunch!

Of course, once the food (and coffee!) arrived, then things started gaining momentum.  By the end of that whirlwind experience on Saturday afternoon, I felt I had indulged both my mental and physical selves, as well as uplifted my spirits with all of the positive, pro-education karma that ran rampant in that building.

On the way home, Cece and I shared bits and pieces from the sessions we’d separately attended.  We were both in awe of the integrity and approachability of the great folks who presented, as well as the instant camaraderie we felt with the entire group in attendance. Then, near the end of our return trip home, Cece suggested something foreign to me, and I felt my calm, collected self freezing up again…

“You know, Joan, you should start a blog…”

My initial response was something to the tune of “I don’t have time to do that!”  I’m not positive I said that out loud at the moment, but that’s definitely what I was hearing–loud and clear–in my head.  I had already joked with Cece that a friend of mine has volunteered to be my coach in a fictitious “12 Steps to Say No” program.  I have an extreme habit of over-multi-tasking, (which is easily identified by my need to extend words like ‘multi-tasking’ in the first place), and those who work closely with me have all good intentions of keeping me from overextending myself.  So I said no, and put it out of my head.

Until today.

So here it is, my very first post on my very own blog.  I gave it some thought (a whole mornings’ worth), and decided that this would be an experiment in sharing what I know about education, as well as life outside the school building, in the hopes that those with similar passions and hobbies will find this a place to learn from me, to teach me, and to pass it on.  That was the underlying premise of the un-conference, I believe, and I feel inspired to, well, pass it on.  Enjoy the day!

Comments on: "Baby Steps" (14)

  1. Jessica Brogley said:

    Congrats on starting a blog! YAY! Cece is right. 🙂 And it’s awesome that you went to Edcamp.

    Wasn’t it an invigorating experience? It’s just what a teacher needs right at the end of the year. I’m sure everyone has had that year where we say, “Oh heck, let’s just get to June” and autopilot is on. But…I find when I stay focused on daily professional development, I don’t feel that way at all. I find myself saying, “I have 3 weeks with these kids yet…what can I do still?”

    I hope your enthusiasm spreads to others. Awesome stuff.

    • Hey, Jess! Thanks for the shoutout! Cece and I sure miss your presence in our district; thankfully we’re all tech-headed enough to find ways around the distance issue! 😛
      Love your comments about some who prefer to shut down near year’s end; as a parent and a teacher, I strive each day to be the kind of passionate learner that I’d want my kids’ teachers to be. I think the more active we are at learning, the more dynamic we are at educating their kids–and our own!
      EdCamp rocked! Maybe someone can set one up in a Wisconsin location…I’m keeping my eyes peeled! Take care! 😀 ~Joan

  2. I also began blogging yesterday. It’s great to know that there are other people who are willing to put their thoughts out in public, no matter how uncomfortable that might feel at first. I hope that your blogging journey is a fruitful one.

    • Thank you, Chris! Same good blogging wishes to you! Is your blog about music? I’m hoping to find someone who knows how to play the cello–I’m in need of advice in that area–I’ll be renting a cello this summer, in hopes of joining a local New Horizons Orchestra and get back into that part of my life that I left behind in college. Perhaps blogging about it will give me some connections! ~Joan

  3. Hooray for you!! I’ve always wanted to do a blog, but everytime I think about it, I get nervous. I can’t settle on a topic to write about. Good Luck with yours!! I’ll be reading!

    • Thanks, Rose! Let’s be blog-newbies together! Today I’m learning about approving and replying to comments made on my blog. Nice to know that I can read them first, and then decide if they’re appropriate for my blog. Like you, I’ve got a lot of topics I could banter on about, but I know that’s a great way to share interests with others and learn something more about those interests from others. Besides, I’m not a first grade teacher 24/7, 365 days a year, and I wanted a blog that reflected me as a whole person…just a very “beezy” lady! 😀 ~Joan

  4. I’m glad you enjoyed the day and also happy you decided to start reflection on your learning by starting a blog. Don’t worry if you don’t get things posted as often as you’d like. Do it when you have time and do it when you want to get something down on “paper.”

    Thanks for coming to EdCamp Chicago!

    • Hi Chad,
      I just can’t say enough about EdCamp Chicago to match the “Wow!” of insight I received from those who were there. I even learned how to do a few more things with my somewhat new Blackberry smartphone while I was down there. Thanks for the blogging advice, and reassurance that it’s a connecting tool, not a daily assignment. 😉 That takes a lot of pressure off! ~Joan

  5. Cecilia,
    Congratulations on a great first post! I’m an eternal learner too, and a fairly new blogger. I got serious in January after doing a blogging challenge with Edublogs.

    I tried to go to my first unconference at EdCampOmaha in March, but I got sick. I did follow Chicago and Phillie on Twitter for a while.

    Good luck, and may I suggest that you add a note or page about you, so we can get to know you as a person. I’m afraid I don’t even know how to pronounce your blog page.

    Thanks,
    Denise

    • Hi Denise! Thanks for the blogging tips. I’m hoping to post the personal info soon–perhaps tonight. As for the Blog page, my last name is Biese, pronounced ‘beez,’ and that weird spelling was my closest attempt to create “One Beez-y Lady” without changing my surname, or without using a hyphen (which wordpress wouldn’t allow–I tried!). Right now I’m figuring out what to do when people send comments to my blog. This is all new to me, so I’m workin’ on those Baby Steps for awhile! 😀 Thanks again for your kind words! ~Joan

  6. Oops, I just realized Cecilia was a retweeter, not you! Sorry!
    Denise

  7. Great start to your blog. Happy blogging!

    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

